Top Picks: Young-Adult Fiction

Young-Adult-SeriesI read my fair share of classic novels and non-fiction books, but recently I have really been enjoying the imaginative and thrilling worlds, not to mention easy-reading, found in a lot of  young adult books. It’s been a welcome escape during busy times or on vacations when I’ve just wanted to get lost in an all-consuming story and because the writing is typically not as complex, I turn the pages so quickly that I get that satisfaction of having completed another book.

I say that I recently got into reading young-adult literature, but really it all started back in high school when I was transported to Hogwarts to follow along the journey of a certain wizard named Harry Potter. I can still remember the day when the final book was released. I was working in DC at the time and had reserved a copy at the book store down the street. I spent my lunch hour on a bench devouring as much as I could before I had to go back to work.

Since then I’ve read many different YA series, most of them recommended to me by friends, family or Phil (his favorite is the Garth Nix trilogy). For me, venturing into the young-adult or teen section of the library or book store makes me feel a bit out of place…and old, and because the book covers tend to look pretty cheesy, I never know what to pick up if I’m just browsing. So I like to request my books online from the privacy of my home, based on recommendations from those I trust. In case that’s also how you roll too, here is my list of “Top Picks” for young-adult fiction (in no particular order):

  1. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
  2. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  3. His Dark Materials (most recognizable by the 1st book “The Golden Compass”) by Philip Pullman
  4. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare
  5. Abhorsen by Garth Nix
  6. Divergent by Veronica Roth
  7. The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer

Happy Reading!

Leave a comment