I Heart the Olympics

SOC_Olympic logoRGBI must sound like a broken record these days because every time an ad for the Olympics plays I say, “I love the Olympics”, and Phil just nods because it’s only the 20th time he’s heard me say that. But it’s true. There is something about the Olympics that makes me excited. I love hearing the stories of the athletes and how they got to where they are, love watching all their hard work pay off, and I love seeing the pride on their faces when they wear their country’s flag. I can’t say I’m entirely thrilled about where the Olympics are being hosted this year. If you’ve been watching the news you know it’s been an uphill battle for Sochi in terms of safety, security, readiness and a host of other things, but that won’t stop me from watching and supporting the athletes and the idea of the games.

When I was younger we always watched the Olympics, but I was mostly interested in the events that probably most young girls loved, like gymnastics in the summer and figure skating in the winter. But now, I’m more interested in all of the other sporting events. I never knew there were so many different types of skiing and snow boarding events, but they’re all fascinating! What these athletes are capable of is incredible. It’s basically 2 weeks of non-stop motivational programming. They have all pushed themselves farther than they thought possible and put everything into their sport, and that makes me want to get moving myself. But that’s for after the games, because for the next couple weeks I will be in front of the TV soaking in as much of the 2014 Sochi Olympics as possible.

Go team USA!

Leave a Reply

