Reading Recap {2013}

I have a somewhat sad reading recap to provide for this year. I guess that’s the point of setting goals – to stretch yourself – and while you can’t always reach them, at least you try. Well last year I set what now seems like a very lofty reading goal. In all fairness, I didn’t know at the time that we would be buying a house and that my time would somehow disappear into the various projects and upkeep that come with being a homeowner. But in an effort to share the good and the bad (because I wouldn’t want you thinking I was some kind of wonder woman who paints a house, works, blogs and reads all at the same time!), here’s the update.

The goal was 18 books…and I read 10! That’s 55.55% complete. Not quite what I wanted, considering that last year I met 95% of my goal, but not bad either. I read some really great books this year, so I don’t regret the goal at all. I’m not sure if I’ll set another for 2014. I’ll always keep reading, so there’s no worry that without the goal I won’t read, but I think I may just read at my own pace without worrying about any numbers.

Do you set a goal for number of books or pages to read? What was your favorite book from this past year? Mine was Where’d You Go, Bernadette with Flight Behavior as a close second.

2013-Book-Review

1. The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin
2. Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain
3. The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling
4. Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver
5. Sweet Tooth by Ian McEwan
6. Daring Greatly by Brene Brown
7. Lean In: Women, Work and the Will to Lead by Sheryl Sandberg
8. Anna Karenin by Leo Tolstoy
9. Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple
10. Room by Emma Donoghue

8 thoughts on “Reading Recap {2013}

  1. Andrea

    I’m impressed that you even found time to read! I honestly read maybe two books this year and probably have four that I started and never finished. Maybe I’ll be a little better now that the weather is so frigidly cold!

    Reply
      1. Andrea

        Good question! I’ve been wanting to read Salt, Sugar, Fat and figured the New Year might be the perfect time to read it and make some changes. I’m not sure if I can really count it as “reading”, but I got the Pioneer Woman Cooks holiday cookbook and I’d like to at least look through all of the recipes. I definitely do more than just food/cooking reading but I guess that’s what I’m interested in at the moment!

  2. Sam Smith

    I totally get it, Katelyn! I usually try for one book, month… but I really only read at bedtime and lately I just pass out when my head hits the pillow. 😉

    The only way I “read” much at all this year is from taking up listening to audiobooks on my way to/from work. It makes me realize how much time I waste in the car when the chapters start flying by. My 20 min commute isn’t even that long!

    Reply
    1. Katelyn Post author

      I listen to audiobooks too, but lately NPR has been more appealing on my commute. Maybe I just have the wrong audiobook playing right now.
      I’m hoping to knock out an entire book on vacation though!

      Reply
      1. Sam Smith

        I’m in the same rut right now — “The Aviator’s Wife” is pretty interesting so far but it just doesn’t capture my attention like past audiobooks… and I find it slightly depressing, lol. Maybe it’s her voice?

        I’m thinking something YA — probably Divergent — for a vacation read. Easy to focus on, even with a beach-mindset! Looking forward to the trip! 😀

  3. Adrienne

    Don’t let not meeting the goal keep you from setting a new one. 🙂 I’m trying to be more forgiving of myself for such things.
    I just started Going Clear about Scientology and it’s very interesting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

