5 Fantastic Things | October

October-5-Fantastic-Things

October consistently remains one of my favorite months of the year and this October did not disappoint. I could barely whittle my list down to just 5 fantastic things. Between the weather, my birthday, Halloween and just the general buzz in the air as pumpkin spice lattes and colorful leaves return, even Christmas will have a hard act to follow.

5 FANTASTIC THINGS I want to remember:

  1. How great it felt to cross the finish line at my first half-marathon. I don’t think I stopped smiling that entire run.
  2. Being surprised by what Peter Sagal looks like when we saw him live at the recording of Wait Wait… Don’t Tell Me, the NPR News Quiz. Cincinnati filled that hall and we enjoyed every minute of the broadcast. Best birthday present!
  3. Keeping the birthday tradition alive with a little shopping with my mom. No one will be more honest about how you look in that outfit than your mom.
  4. Holding my co-worker’s new baby and having her fall asleep in my arms. She proved to me that babies are not so scary 🙂
  5. Eating that first piece of pizza post-race – something I have been craving since giving up flour and sugar. Oh, and sharing it with some pretty awesome people. I love it when my friends and family come together.

5 FANTASTIC THINGS I’m looking forward to:

  1. Hosting the neighbors on our street for a little get together. We have the best neighbors and we enjoy getting together every month or so to kick back and catch up. It’s one of the many reasons I love living where we do.
  2. Picking back up with my yoga practice now that the intensity of the half-marathon training is over.
  3. Having a few days off around Thanksgiving. I have been burning the candle at both ends and could really use a few days of R&R.
  4. Possibly running the Cincinnati Turkey Trot.  There is no better excuse for eating that extra piece of pie than running 6 miles Thanksgiving morning.
  5. Reading! I am way behind on my goal for the year, and I’m not sure that I’ll even come close to making it, but that’s not going to stop me from trying.  Next up…The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People.

Past “5 Fantastic Things” posts: September // August // July // June // May

Leave a Reply

