Half Here I Come

Print

I did it! I registered for the half-marathon right before it sold out. I’ve been saying that I will run a half for some time now. I even included it on my 30 Before 30 list, but if you haven’t noticed, it’s been 6 months since I’ve crossed anything off. It was about time to start making progress on the bigger goals, half-marathon included. In July I started training with a local group twice a week and every Saturday I hit a new personal record for distance run. This week it was 8 miles and I’m feeling pretty good about that.

The race is Sunday, October 20th. I’ll be crossing the finish line 1 year and 2 days before 30 – plenty of time to spare (or run another). The group training has been the way to go for me. I’m not sure I would ever complete 8 miles, let alone 13, without someone more experienced planning our training schedule, mapping the routes, running alongside me and encouraging me along the way. I’ve found several runners that run my pace and I look forward to running with them each week when we hit the pavement before the rest of the city wakes up.

I haven’t been this excited for something in awhile. Maybe it’s the runner’s high, which I gratefully benefit from after every run, but I think it has more to do with accomplishing a goal that to me, is huge. I still haven’t decided if this will be a precursor to a full marathon or not. For now, 13.1 miles is long enough for me!

I could use your help though. Aside from cheering me on, I am looking for recommendations on running tunes. I don’t currently run with music, but because I won’t be running with my full training group on race day, I am thinking of bringing the headphones for extra motivation. I’m not a fast runner by any means, so we’re talking 2 and a half hours of music! I could use some help. Ideas for up-beat tunes?

4 thoughts on “Half Here I Come

    1. Katelyn Post author

      Good idea! I just added some Peter Gabriel this morning. Not the most upbeat, but he always makes me smile and that probably can’t hurt come mile 11-12 🙂

      Reply
  1. Shannyn

    I know it sounds counter-productive, but I’ve noticed that balancing the fun tunes with some more mellow stuff helps with my pacing a lot (I’ve run 3 halfs). One of my personal faves is Bon Iver (the self-titled album) – I don’t accidentally run too fast then burn out. Have fun!!

    Reply
    1. Katelyn Post author

      Shannyn – that’s actually a really good point. I could see the excitement of the race coupled with upbeat music causing me to run faster than I know I can for 13 miles. I will give your recommendation a try on my next run and let you know. And way to go on the 3 half-marathons! That’s impressive!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

