Every Day May Not Be Good

Every-DayWhen I was searching for a quote to illustrate the reality of my day yesterday, this is not what I originally had in mind, but in trying to get to a place where I can laugh about things, this is headed in the right direction. I don’t think this blog has turned into one of those blogs where every image is perfect and every post leads you to believe that nothing ever goes wrong for the author and life is all about champagne, rainbows and pretty things. But just to be sure I haven’t given you that impression, I want you to know that I am writing this post after having a major meltdown. Yesterday was not a good day.

I don’t need to over-share the details and events that led up to the moment where I sat, paint brush in hand, tears on face, wanting to go back to bed and start the day all over again, but let’s just say the painting project I was so excited about on Friday was not going so well on Sunday morning. You see, I was working so quickly to get it finished so that we could still have a life outside of all of the house projects I’ve had on my to-do list lately, that I neglected to notice that I was painting with the untinted, bright white paint that I had purchased (at the sale price) to have tinted at a later date once I have decided which room to tackle next. That’s right – I wasted 2 hours and a perfectly good half-gallon of paint because I was in too much of a hurry to notice that there was no label on the lid saying “USE ME – I’VE BEEN TINTED”. So yes, it was a bad day and no, the office is still not finished. But the good part? I went to bed super early last night (wanting to sleep away whatever was left of my bad day) and today I feel rested and re-energized.

So, I’m not writing this to give you tips on what not to do when painting. I’m writing this to remind you, and myself, that we all have bad days. No one is immune to that. And it’s ok to cry and be frustrated or hate yourself for a bit, but then it’s time to find the good (or go to bed), because when you wake up the next day you get to start all over again, learn from your mistakes, and hopefully laugh at yourself (if not the next day, then at some point). But there is good in everyday. Of that I am sure.

p.s. – No more talking about the house for a little while. It’s been defining me for the last couple of months and I want to rediscover the Katelyn who existed pre-home-ownership.

2 thoughts on “Every Day May Not Be Good

  1. Abby

    I needed to read this today! and know that I’m not alone as I’m currently having a not-so-good day myself…!

    Glad you are having a better day today 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

