A New Habit | Golden Rules for Living

eebea00a090166e1c75ca68eaf856e5b

Phil is always getting exasperated with me for my bad habit of leaving things scattered around the house. If there’s a water glass, piece of clothing, or pair of shoes where it doesn’t belong, you better believe it’s mine. I’m not sure when I started doing this, or maybe I’ve always had this habit – mom?  Either way, it’s a bad habit and one I need to quit. Nobody wants to be the messy one at home. And what kind of lessons will I want to teach my kids? That it’s ok to not pick up after yourself? NO! I learned the Golden Rule of Living:

If you open it, close it.
If you turn it on, turn it off.
If you move it, put it back.
Etc…

It’s time to put it into practice. It’s going to take a lot of effort – a habit is a habit. I imagine there will be a lot of mental coaxing – “That’s not where that belongs” and “Don’t take your shoes off here, you’ll just trip on them later” – but eventually I’m hoping after time that it will become a new habit. I’m also planning to make things easier for myself by creating a more functional entry-way, a more organized filing system, and more thought-out laundry system so that it will take more effort to leave things out than it will be to put them away. If I come up with any tips along the way, I will certainly let you know.

Are there any other clutter-blind people out there? Or for all of the neat-freaks, what’s your trick?

2 thoughts on “A New Habit | Golden Rules for Living

Leave a Reply

