My Breakfast Smoothie

Well, I am back on my smoothie kick. I don’t know why it has to be this on again, off again relationship but it’s on again nonetheless. More to come on what event prompted this, but for now, let’s focus on the smoothie. Getting back in the groove of making this concoction every morning takes a week or so, but luckily I have my stand-by recipe still memorized (for the most part) so all it took was a bit of prep work and I was good to go. Since a smoothie tastes best fresh, I make mine in the morning, which is no small feat considering I’m always in a rush (darn snooze button!).

Smoothie-Steps

In addition to buying some bulk-size bags of frozen strawberries, mango or whatever other fruit sounds good, I prep and freeze bananas, kale and other leftover produce so it’s easy to grab in the mornings, in individual bags.

Now that I’ve got my routine down, my goal is to find some additional smoothie recipes that have more vegetables than fruit so that I’m not overloading on the sugar (as natural as it is). Here are a few I’ve had my eye on. Do you have any suggestions?

4 thoughts on “My Breakfast Smoothie

  1. Kathleen

    Check out Claire’s recipes at vidyacleanse.com. Also, my go-to recipe now includes lots of celery, spinach (or kale), avocado, and banana. I also supplement like crazy with Vitamineral greens powder, flax oil, bee pollen, cacao nibs, and hemp seeds.

    Reply
  2. Adrienne

    We make juice instead of smoothies, but it’s the same idea–we try to do 2-3 vegetables for every fruit, and just throw in whatever we have. Kale, collard greens, ginger, and celery are all in the mix, and herbs like parsley, basil, or mint add a nice flavor.

    Reply
    1. Katelyn Post author

      Adrienne – I never even thought of herbs. That’s an interesting idea though. You seem to be in a growing number of people doing juicing. I hope to try that at some point to see which I prefer.

      Reply
      1. Adrienne

        Similarly, Tamar Adler recommends adding herbs to salads in her book “An Everlasting Meal”, and it has changed my life forever. Adding a little basil, mint, or parsley to a salad takes it to a completely new level! (i’m eating a salad with mint in it as I type this!)

Leave a Reply

