No Sleep For You

We are in the midst of painting — lots of painting — and because of all the wall-preparation, room-rearranging and furniture-covering that comes with painting, our living room is no longer a living room. Currently, it only contains a couch covered by a drop-cloth in the middle of the room. Which means, when we want to sit and relax in the evening (when we’re not painting of course) we have two options – the kitchen bar stools or the bed. But when I am sitting and relaxing, I do enjoy the occasional time in front of the tube watching The Voice, Modern Family or our trusty go-to-channel PBS. So with only two choices for relaxing and TV-watching, we decided on the bed and temporarily relocated our TV there. Boy is it strange.

TV-in-bed

I have never had a TV in my bedroom, except when I lived in a studio where the entire apartment was my bedroom, and it’s a good thing because this is pretty much me. Whether it’s a suspenseful show, a sitcom, or just the news, I. Can’t. Stop. Watching. At first I thought it would be fun, maybe feel like a mini-vacation since hotel rooms are the only other place where I watch TV from bed, but instead, I think it’s been disrupting my sleep! My bedroom has become my living space instead of my sleeping space and I am staying up too late, falling asleep with the TV on, and waking up in the early hours to turn the tv off. Not good.

I guess I like my bedroom to be a little old-fashioned – containing a bed, a dresser and a nightstand – a simple and peaceful space focused on sleep. What about you? Do you have a TV in the bedroom? How do you make sure that it doesn’t disrupt your sleep?

One thought on “No Sleep For You

  1. Dad

    I had a TV in my bedroom for close to 15 years. Last year we moved and the bedroom TV didn’t make the journey. I love NOT having it in there. I sleep better AND listen to way more music. Nanci misses it once in awhile, but not too often. My vote? Better off without it in there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

