Painting Patience

When we announced that we were closing on our house, lots of people asked if we had flexibility in our schedule to get in and do some repairs and painting before actually moving in. Technically we did, since the lease at our apartment goes through next week, but we decided to go ahead and move in anyway. The idea of dragging out the whole living-in-two-places scenario did not sound appealing.

But even if we had gone the route of delaying our move, how do you know what colors to paint the walls without having lived in the space? Even after almost two weeks, I still don’t know what I want, but at least now I know that our family room needs a light, fresh color to reflect light because it is naturally dark and our living room will lend itself well to a warm color. How I am going to select exactly which color, I’m not sure, but at least I have a starting point.

Current-Paint

These are the colors that we are currently working with. I may not know what I want, but I know that I don’t want this! Do you have any tips for selecting colors? The idea of painting every room in our house is overwhelming. Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated!

2 thoughts on “Painting Patience

  1. Cindy franks

    Hey little Katie did. Find a piece of clothing. A scarf. Or an item that you own that has colors in it that you love. Let that be your inspiration that’s how they do it on HGTV. I know this doesn’t sound reasonable right now but remember, It is only paint. You can change paint fairly easily and inexpensively. Focus on the two or three rooms where you are the most. Make them what you really want to come home to. Good luck. I am so proud of you and happy for you both. Love you. PAC. :0)

    Reply
  2. Pingback: 5 Fantastic Things | May | a little old fashioned

Leave a Reply

