Weekly Recipe | Shrimp & Asparagus Risotto

No Sugar No Flour is a weekly series where I share a new recipe that I’ve tried and enjoyed. (See past recipes here.) The only parameters are that it cannot contain added sugar or flour. Take the challenge and …Enjoy!

ShrimpandAsparagusRisotto_03_mini

I’m not sure why I never considered risotto as an option in my no sugar no flour diet before. Maybe because it’s shaped like orzo and I just associated it with pasta (?), even though the name arborio rice makes it very clear that it is rice. Funny how associations in the mind work.

Anyway, I found this recipe for “Simple Shrimp and Asparagus Risotto” via Iowa Girl Eats, a blog with fantastic recipes, great photos and lots of personality. And it is just that – simple and delicious.

The only tip I would add to this well-written recipe, is if you use frozen shrimp as I did, I would cook them separately in a skillet before adding them to the risotto to blend with the flavors of the dish. I could not get the shrimp to cook thoroughly mixed in with everything else as they never seemed to get enough surface time with the heat of the pan. Oh, and I doubled the recipe to serve 4 so we could each have leftovers for lunch the next day. Other than that, this dish is a keeper. Enjoy it while the asparagus is in season!

Leave a Reply

