Red Fun

I first wore this dress for our New Year’s Eve outing at the Contemporary Arts Center. But like many of my other special occasion dresses, it just hung in the back of my closet waiting for the next opportunity to be shown off. The problem with dresses like this is that special occasions are often few and far between and yet for the price of a special dress, it would be nice if you had an excuse to wear it every weekend!

P1080561copyI decided enough was enough. Not only did I spend good money on this dress, I also really loved it! So I pulled it out of the closet to see if I could remix it into a more casual outfit for any occasion…

Day-to-Night

And I think it worked! Riding boots are great for dressing down just about any piece and the chunky cardigan and bright belt played well in contrast with the material and color of the dress. I wore this on a casual double-date and felt comfortable yet dressy at the same time. It was the perfect combination. But I will say, there’s something about wearing riding boots with a dress/skirt that brings out the silly in me!

Funny

Nonetheless, I’m glad to have found another outfit for my “special occasion dress” so I can enjoy it more than just once or twice a season! Have you ever tried dressing down a fancy dress? Were you successful?

Leave a Reply

