It’s Just Hair

I got a much needed haircut the other night (why do I always wait until the last minute?) and as I sat in the chair explaining to my stylist that I just wanted a trim, I felt lame that I wasn’t trying some crazy new style that would shake things up for spring. Especially since I suggested that here as a way to combat spring fever!

New Do copy

I’ve sat in probably 20 different stylists’ chairs over the years and have asked for some pretty crazy things – pixie cuts, orange-like hair color, heck, I’ve even cut my own hair! All of it never seemed to phase me. I always said, “it’s just hair”.

Throwback-Haircuts

Something has changed between then and now. Maybe it was that one bad hair cut where I sat in the salon saying, “it’s just hair”, but afterward sat in my car crying – it wasn’t just hair. But that experience was long ago, so I’m more inclined to think that my hesitation has more to do with the length of my hair and the amount of time it’s taken me to get to this length. Now, a change, even a small change, would seem much more dramatic than if I were cutting my already “short” hair.

So for now I’m enjoying my long hair and I think instead of being dramatic with a cut, I’ll try being more dramatic with my hairstyling. Coming from someone who’s worked with short hair all her life, that is a challenge in and of itself.

p.s. I know it’s not #throwbackthursday, but how about those insanely old pictures? Too embarrassing!

6 thoughts on “It’s Just Hair

  1. Val Hedges

    All I can say is, “I never thought I’d see the day”………….remember our “battle” over whether or not you’d grow the hair for Miss OH?????? The truth is, your hair looks great at any length!

    Reply
    1. Katelyn Post author

      Val – how could I forget that battle? I was pretty stubborn! There are days when I miss the short hair, but overall I’ve been enjoying the length. Who would have ever guessed?

      Reply
  2. Cindy franks

    Katie did. I love getting to know you all over again on this wonderful blog. You are a beautiful, smart, exceptional woman. I am so proud to be your Pretty Aunt Cindy..

    Reply
  3. Rachel M

    I just got my hair trimmed the other day too…the past year or so I have been having the same feeling of being boring with my hair because I’m not doing something drastically different with every cut. But we’ve both been on the journey from pixie to long and everything in between, and I think we’re getting to the point where we know what’s flattering and can make smaller adjustments to stay hip and current instead of constant crazy experiments. BTW I always loved it when you cut my hair for me!

    Reply
    1. Katelyn Post author

      I completely agree Rachel, about being able to know now what’s flattering. For me…bangs! And I think your hair looks great where it is now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

