Weekly Recipe | Baked Tilapia with Vegetables & Rice

No Sugar No Flour is a weekly series where I share a new recipe that I’ve tried and enjoyed.  The only parameters are that it cannot contain added sugar or flour.  Take the challenge and …Enjoy!

Baked-Tilapia-Cover

Even though I’m a pescatarian, I don’t substitute fish for other meat every day of the week.  Mostly I’m substituting vegetables, but when I do make fish, this is my go-to dish.  So it’s not new to me, but it’s been a staple for us for years and it’s so easy that I couldn’t not share it.  Because it’s sort of our own creation and I can’t simply link to a recipe that’s already published, I will have to document the process myself (i.e. write a recipe).  Having never written a recipe before, please ask for clarification or let me know if something doesn’t make sense.  And note, if tilapia is not your cup of tea, you could substitute any other mild white fish.

Ingredients:
4 tilapia filets
1 bell pepper (any color is fine)
1/2 white or yellow onion
3-4 radishes
Any other root vegetable that will bake easily
Salt and Pepper
Lemon
Splash of white wine
Butter
Olive Oil

Directions:
1.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
2.  Butter a 13×9 baking dish (I use my pyrex)
3.  Cut bell pepper and onion into 1″ slices
4.  Cut radishes into quarters
5.  In a medium pan, heat 1-2 Tbl olive and saute pepper, onion, radishes and any other vegetables over medium heat.  Vegetables should still be firm (3-4 minutes).  Set aside.
6.  Salt and pepper 4 tilapia filets
7.  Arrange filets in baking dish, arrange vegetables on top of and around filets, squeeze 1/2 lemon’s juice on top of fish and vegetables and add a splash of white wine into the dish for moisture.
8.  Cover dish with oven-safe lid or aluminum foil.
9.  Bake for 15-18 minutes depending on size of filets and heat of oven.  Fish should turn opaque when cooked.
10.  Meanwhile, prepare 1 cup dry rice per your usual methods.
11.  Serve fish and vegetables over rice.  Enjoy!

Baked Tilapia and Vegetables

*The sauce pictured above is a chimichurri sauce.  While a delicious sauce itself, I’m not sure it went as well with the fish, vegetables and rice as I had hoped.  I’ll keep looking for the perfect match.

Leave a Reply

