Under the Sea

Since life is sweet here we got the beat here naturally…

Katelyn and Phillip-9

Now that The Little Mermaid is stuck in your head I want to announce that I did it! I went SCUBA DIVING! And, in doing so, I officially crossed the first item off my 30 before 30 list!

We just returned from a beautiful week in Playa del Carmen, Mexico where we rented a house on the beach with friends (a slew of pictures to come). In addition to plenty of sunshine, ocean waves and margaritas, one of the highlights of the week was taking my first-ever under-water dive.

Katelyn and Phillip-24

We did a “discover scuba diving” course with a fabulous local dive shop, and our instructor, Yanco, was extremely thorough and knowledgeable. We geared up at 9am and spent time reviewing the basics before jumping into a nearby pool to practice the skills. We had to clear our regulator and mask under water as well as pass air to a fellow diver. Then we hopped on a boat, and before we knew it we were in the water sitting on the ocean floor.

I don’t want to make it sound like a total piece of cake. It’s definitely not a normal feeling at first to be breathing under the water and I struggled to pressurize my ears going down even just the 40 feet, but apparently that runs in my family. (My dad is a certified diver and still has trouble clearing his ears.) But all in all, I’m so proud to have completed the dives.

Scuba-1

As much as scuba diving lends itself to being a romantic date opportunity, that’s actually our dive instructor holding my hand. I must have looked uncomfortable because he kept grabbing my hand to provide reassurance! It was actually to my advantage because several times he pointed out creatures and fish that I would not have noticed on my own.

Scuba-2

Katelyn and Phillip-26

Phil and I are still deciding whether we want to continue on to the next step and get certified. The more we look back at the pictures and recount the experience though, the more we lean toward yes! But regardless of what the future holds for us in terms of diving, I am SO GLAD that we did this introduction. At least now we know that we can do it!

Katelyn and Phillip-32

One thought on “Under the Sea

  1. Dad

    Each little slug here cutting a rug here,
    that’s why it’s hotter under the water. Etc etc.
    Hooray for you guys! I’m proud of both of you.
    – Dad (-and Sebastian)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

