Let’s do this 2013

2013 Lets Do This
I go back and forth as to how I feel about New Year’s resolutions, and because of that I’m not very consistent year to year in creating any.  But frankly, I don’t need the new year to set goals for myself.  Have you read my blog lately?  It seems I always have a challenge or a goal in the works…dietrunningreading30 before 30 and more.
A friend of mine is writing a mantra for the year; something that he can repeat to stay focused on who he wants to be and what he wants to accomplish.  I think it’s a great idea, and admirable, but I struggle to consolidate my thoughts into a single blog post, let alone a mantra for the entire year.  But a variation of this could work quite well for me.
For 2013, I am going to focus on 5 priorities, each with its own mantra.  I will try my best to focus my time, my goals and my frame of mind to support one of these priorities and I will revisit each mantra regularly to remind myself of my direction for the year.
2013-Priorities
Do you have a personal mantra or a set of priorities that you revisit each year?
4 thoughts on “Let’s do this 2013

  1. Dad

    Katelyn, you are always an inspiration to me. I’m going to jump on board the mantra train with you. I’m still searching for a new one, but I know my old one of “Hey, if no one wants this last beer…” has got to go.
    Good luck!

    Reply
  2. Jessica Llanes

    Great post! Love your mantras. I only have one that I use often and even inscribed on a necklace that I learned in a yoga class: try easy. Everyone always talks about trying hard but our instructor said that when we get into a pose to come into it with ease instead of focusing on forcing it to our agenda. I have used that mantra in many things in life now, from cooking school to running and just daily life. Try easy. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Katelyn Post author

      I love that – Try easy. You make a great point about how we often try to force something, for me that is especially true with my schedule. I will have to remember this.
      And on a side note – don’t you love yoga? I always learn so much from each class/instructor.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

