A Bookend To My Day

Today was not my day.  The evening, well that was a different story.  But the day…not mine.

Let me walk you through my morning, the start to the day that was not mine and I think this might set the stage…

I was running 5 minutes late in my getting-ready-routine because I hit the snooze button one too many times.

I pulled into my work, also 5 minutes late, got up to my 3rd floor office, unloaded my bags, opened my desk drawer where I keep my laptop and thought to myself, “Oh my goodness, someone has taken my laptop!”

Then, and not a second before, it dawned on me that I had taken my laptop home for the weekend.  I couldn’t have remembered that as I was pulling out of the driveway, partway through my commute, or even as I was pulling into the parking lot at work.  No, I was sitting at my desk, saying good morning to my co-workers, with my commute well behind me.  Awesome.

So I explained my situation, texted my manager and went back to my car to start the long drive back home to pick up the one thing that I absolutely needed to bring to work each day.

I’m not sure which emotion I felt most strongly on that drive home – embarrasment, frustration, anger, or stupidity – but needless to say, I was not happy.

It could have all been prevented had I just laid out everything that I needed to take to work the night before.  Then I would have had to have blatantly chosen to not pick up my laptop bag because it would have been right there in front of me, instead of in a dark corner underneath the home desk where I never gave it a second thought.

So in short, I need a better bedtime routine.

While I would like it to be as simple as storytime and sleeptime, I think my adult bedtime routine will probably involve things like packing my lunch, washing any leftover dishes, laying out clothes for the next day and reading or journaling before falling asleep.  My plan is to start with a bedtime routine in hopes that once it is a habit, it will help my mornings be that much easier.  And down the line, help ease the transition to an earlier alarm time, something I have been wanting to accomplish for quite some time now.

As Darren Hardy said, I will be striving to improve the bookends of my days – my morning and evening routines – so that I can go from this…

to this…

Do you have any tips for a morning or bedtime routine?  Something that works well for you?

5 thoughts on “A Bookend To My Day

  1. emilybarney11

    After dinner Joe washed the dishes while I pack our lunches and put away dinner, which is usually one in the same since I eat leftovers for lunch. By the time I’m finished we both put the dishes away (sometimes he puts them away before I’m done and we settle into our homework, which could be time for you to iron your clothes for the next day. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Katelyn Post author

      Part of my problem is that each evening is different and we’re not always eating at home. But I definitely need to incorporate kitchen clean up and packing lunches into my evening regardless of what we’ve been doing. So I’ll start small with things like that and laying out my clothes, and maybe it’ll grow to include something like journaling or reading before bed too. Thanks for always sharing your experiences!

      Reply
  2. Bobbie

    Katelyn, I loved reading this. I can relate. I lay out my clothes every night. I have to because I go to the gym at the crack and I have to pack my clothes that I will put on after my workout and shower. I get dressed at the gym. The good part is that I just have to brush my teeth and hair, throw on my gym clothes, grab my bag and purse and head out. Almost always works. Bobbie

    Reply
    1. Katelyn Post author

      Thanks Bobbie! Getting back into a morning workout routine would definitely help. You have no option but to be prepared when you’re going straight to work afterward. I’m getting better at making sure that at the very least my work bag is by the door, my lunch is packed, and I at least know in my head what I’m going to wear. Baby steps. I find that I can only tackle one new habit at a time. First it was no sugar no flour, now it’s a bedtime routine. I’m already thinking forward to the next…
      Thanks for reading!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: My Breakfast Smoothie | a little old fashioned

Leave a Reply

