Baby Blanket | Pink Checkers

I thought I would share the latest project to come off the knitting needles.  This was a special request from a work colleague of my mother’s.  Her first granddaughter is due in September and I am so pleased to have been able to knit the blanket that she will use to hold her.

I used my go-to yarn these days – Berroco Comfort.  It is the perfect texture for anything baby.  After the last, more intricate baby blanket, the mindless checkered pattern was a welcome change.  This is the kind of knitting you can do without thought.  It becomes a sort of meditation where the repetition of each block is an inhale and exhale…

One of these days, when the baby rush slows down, I’ll be able to cast on a grown-up pattern, but until then my world will be full of pastels and Berroco Comfort.

4 thoughts on “Baby Blanket | Pink Checkers

  1. Nancy Hariani

    I love your pink checkers baby blanket. I too am a big fan of Berroco Comfort. This would be the perfect hand made gift for all those nieces and nephews, etc
    Any chance you can send me the pattern for it, especially for the side and bottom ribbings. It just looks more interesting than a plain knit ribbing. How many cast on and how big is it? Thanks so much!

    Reply
    1. Katelyn Post author

      Nancy – it certainly is the perfect pattern for a beautiful but very practical baby blanket. I didn’t follow a specific pattern. It is basically 4×4 pattern for the basketweave (alternate 4 knits, then 4 purls, each for 4 rows then switch and do the opposite). The border is a 1×1 ribbing, but every two rows I would switch, knitting the purls and purling the knits. Hopefully that makes sense. I didn’t note the number of stitches I cast on, but the finished product was close to a 36″ x 36″. Based on your gauge I would find a number that is divisible by 4 for the basic basketweave pattern and then add 8 stitches to either side (total of 16) for the border pattern. Hope this helps. I would love to see pictures if you decide to knit one!

      Reply
    1. Katelyn Post author

      Debbie – I wish I had kept a better record of what I used for this pattern, but I just finished another baby blanket using the same yarn and US 7 seemed to be just about right. You could use US 6 if needed, but I wouldn’t go larger than 7. I hope that helps. Happy Knitting!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

