I Miss You So

It wasn’t until today, when a co-worker asked me how long it had been since I had last seen my husband, that I realized how long it had actually been.  With the transition between cities and timing with my new job, it just ended up that we’ve had to spend the last month apart.  Even though this was the longest we’ve been apart since we were married, we’ve done plenty of  long-distance stints more significant than this before.  But this time seemed a bit different.

This time I went on with life as best I could, filling my schedule with projects and events and just generally keeping busy.  Of course there was still that nagging feeling that life wasn’t quite right and something was missing, but I focused on passing the time.   Previous experiences, when our relationship was young, distance was agonizing and lonely and sometimes made me question how I would be able to make it until we were together again.  The time always passed, but as slow as molasses.

I don’t know that there is a right or wrong way to “miss” someone, but I am happy with where we are now.  Confident in each other to know that we will make it through and sure of the fact that life will be better when we’re together.

5 thoughts on “I Miss You So

  1. Betsie Carroll

    Great stuff here. I am really enjoying reading your blog. Congrats on the new job and home.
    Love ya, Aunt Betsie

    Reply
    1. Katelyn Post author

      Thanks Aunt Betsie! And thanks for reading. We’re getting settled in the new place and things are going well. Hope to see you soon!

      Reply
    1. Katelyn Post author

      Wow! Is your move a temporary or permanent one? These will be some of the toughest times, but if you can make it through them, your relationship will be so much stronger because of it. Ours is! Hang in there and thanks for sharing!

      Reply
      1. sanfranciscoboundprgirl

        For now it looks as it could be permanent and we are hoping he will be moving to this area once he finishes his Masters program in September of next year. Thank you for the kind words. I know it will be hard but I also know it will all be worth it in the end.

Leave a Reply

