Wishing I Was Knitting…

I have several knitting projects going at the moment but I’ve been so swamped with work and other things that I haven’t had much time to knit, and therefore haven’t had much to share in terms of projects.  So I thought I would pull something from the archives that’s a personal favorite of mine.  I love trying new patterns for the challenge, and that’s mostly what I do, but there are several patterns (a couple by the same designer) that are just so well written, and produce such great results that I return to them time and again.  This is one of those patterns…

The elephant is called Elijah by Ysolda Teague and in this particular instance, the pair was knit as a wedding gift for my sister and brother-in-law.  So it coincides perfectly with the anticipation of our wedding feature on The Everygirl.  I won’t go into detail about why my sister and her husband relate to elephants, but I knew this gift would be the perfect sentimental, inside joke for them for years to come.  AND I tried my hand at a little embroidery to personalize them that much more…

I hope they love them as much as I do.  I know we all got a kick out of seeing them open a gift of stuffed animals, but at least it was a break from all the china and flatware.  Here we are shortly after they were gifted at the rehearsal dinner.  It is such a rewarding feeling to watch someone open a gift that you’ve put so much time into and see their face light up with appreciation for the thoughtfulness of a hand-made item.

One thought on “Wishing I Was Knitting…

  1. whollykao

    These are adorable! Did they take long to make?
    And I totally agree about how great it feels to give a handmade gift and see how happy it makes the person you gave it to!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

