A Book a Month | 1st Quarter Update

Can you believe that we are a quarter of the way through 2012 already?   I still remember from my agency days how our work revolved around goals and evaluations for each quarter.  We would have called this first quarter – JFM – for January, February, March.  So with Sunday marking the 1st of April, I thought it would be a good idea to check in on my progress toward my 2012 reading goal.

The goal was to read 18 books this year.  To be keeping pace with that goal, I should have read 4 1/2 books by now.  Here’s how I’ve done:

I have finished 3 books:
1.  Hunting and Gathering by Anna Gavalda
2.  The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
3.  The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer

I have two books going simultaneously right now, one on my kindle and one in hard copy, and I am half way through both:
1/2.  The 4-Hour Workweek by Timothy Ferriss
1/2.  Born to Run by Christopher McDougall

I’m going to need to step it up a bit in the next three months, but I’ve got some good books on my to-read list so it shouldn’t be too hard to find the motivation.

3 thoughts on “A Book a Month | 1st Quarter Update

  1. Cassie

    I think you’ve met your goal! YAY. I really want to read Hunting and Gathering – how did you like it? Also, how creepy is The Handmaid’s Tale? I could just imagine that happening in our society and it scared me.

    Reply
    1. Katelyn Post author

      I enjoyed Hunting and Gathering very much. It’s definitely more about a beautifully written book and character development than page-turning plot. It’s one of those books though that stays with you long after you’ve read it.
      And yes – Handmaid’s Tale was creepy! Not sure how much I really enjoyed that one, but I can appreciate the imagination it took to write it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

