My Repurposed Herb Garden

You’ve probably seen the living organic herbs that are now sold in the grocery store as an alternative to cut herbs.  Where we shop, the living herbs are usually a better price than the cut versions.  But I’ve always felt guilty just using up what I needed and then throwing the rest away – soil, roots, and all.  So I decided to see if I could get them to grow, re-potted of course, in my kitchen.

I started with basil and rosemary – two herbs that I know we will use should the plants flourish.  I already had two terracotta pots just collecting dust and taking up space in the house (they previously were home to plants that have passed on – so sad – and were painted to fit with the decor of an old apartment).  I saw this as the perfect opportunity to remake them into something more useful.

Here is what I started with:

We had a partially-used can of chalkboard spray paint left over from wedding projects, so I taped up the areas on the pots that I didn’t want to paint, and set to work on applying several coats of the chalkboard paint.  I think I ended up doing 3 coats in total.  Because it’s so warm down here, I was able to do all 3 on a Saturday afternoon.

Once that part was dry, I peeled back the tape and applied 2 coats of Martha Stewart acrylic craft paint in Arrowhead.  Those were dry by the end of the next day, and I set about planting my herbs.  First I put a handful of stones in the bottom to make sure the dirt doesn’t run out  every time I water them.  Then I loosened the roots, added a few handfuls of potting soil, and inserted the plants.  I gave them a good watering – until it started to drain out of the bottom – and then used my white chalk to label the pots (though I should hope that I know the difference between basil and rosemary without having to read it!).

Ta Da!

I like the rosemary pot better with the chalkboard paint just at the top.  But I did the basil pot first so there was no way to know that then.  Maybe I’ll go back and re-do basil at some point, but for now it’s a project completed.

Also, the gray acrylic paint bubbled in two places on the basil pot – you can probably see it.  I noticed that the day after I completed the project.  Anyone have any idea as to why it did that?  Maybe it’s a good excuse to re-do it anyway.  Either way, it’s a quick and easy project for a weekend and a great way to start your own herb garden right on the kitchen counter.

Total Cost = $10.48

  • Rosemary & Basil fresh herbs from local grocery store – $3.99 X 2 = $7.98
  • Chalkboard paint (already owned) – $0
  • Gray craft paint from Michael’s – $1.50
  • Sponge brush from Michael’s – $1.00
4 thoughts on “My Repurposed Herb Garden

  1. Lindsay

    Not only will you have fresh herbs at hand, but the greenery is a nice decorating addition to the kitchen!

    We’re in the processing of growing an indoor plant of our own – Graeme and I received a redwood bonsai forest growing kit for Christmas and are waiting for the first sprout to poke through. The manufacturer makes a variety of plant and herb kits, and all their products are made in the USA. Seems like something up your alley… http://store01.prostores.com/servlet/pottingshedcreations/Catalog

    Reply
    1. Katelyn Post author

      Absolutely! Love having green throughout the apartment.
      I’d love to see pictures once the bonsai starts growing. I’ve never had a bonsai. And I will check into their other kits. Thanks for the recommendation!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

