Baby Blanket | A Modern Twist

I am so excited to share this project with you!  I have been knitting up a storm these last few weeks trying to finish a very special gift for very special friends whose due date is fast approaching.  If you knew these two, you would understand why this could not be just any baby blanket.  The little man for whom I was knitting is going to live in a well-designed world.  His parents run a furniture/home design shop and their house has some serious style!  The standards were high.

When I saw a photo of the baby mobile they had purchased for the nursery, the wheels started turning.

For months now I have been looking for an excuse to make this pinwheel baby blanket.  But for each baby that came along it just didn’t feel like the right fit…until Harper (that’s his name by the way – love it!).  His beautiful mobile needed a complementary blanket.  So I set off in search of the perfect yarn in the perfect colors.

Do you know how difficult it is to find baby-appropriate-yarn that’s not pastel blue, pink, yellow or green?  It’s tricky.  But with the help of my local yarn shop, I think I came pretty close to matching the colors.  I’ve never actually seen the mobile in person – just a photo posted on Facebook.  That’s what happens when you live 700 miles from your friends!

It ended up being 36″ in diameter, which is a great size for a baby blanket  in my opinion.

Here’s a photo on our queen size bed for scale:

The border is just a simple seed stitch to give the edge some structure.

I am so pleased with how it turned out.  I hope to be able to share more pictures with you once Harper arrives.  And now, it’s on to another baby project!

3 thoughts on “Baby Blanket | A Modern Twist

    1. Katelyn Post author

      I will definitely make another one someday. Adult-sized would take some time! By the time I got toward the outer edge of the blanket, I was knitting 400+ per round and it was slow going. I’d love to see pictures if you ever take that on!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

