A Book a Month…

One of my goals for 2011 was to read one book a month.  I’m not a fast reader, and I have many hobbies and projects that fill my free time.  So one book a month seemed like a lofty, yet reasonable goal.  In January of this year (2012), I pulled up my goodreads page, where I keep track of everything I read, to evaluate how many books I finished in 2011.  I was surprised to see that I had exceeded my goal with a total of 16 books!

It helped that many of them were part of a series that was so good I would fly through book after book until there were none left (The Hunger Games, His Dark Materials, The Girl Who…).  Here’s the list:

  1. The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wrobleski
  2. The Lighthouse by P.D. James
  3. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
  4. Sabriel by Garth Nix
  5. The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman
  6. The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman
  7. The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman
  8. One Fifth Avenue by Candace Bushnell
  9. Spark: The Revolutionary New Science of Exercise and the Brain by John J. Ratey
  10. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  11. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
  12. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
  13. Getting Things Done: The Art of Stress-Free Productivity by David Allen
  14. Willpower: Rediscovering the Greatest Human Strength by Roy F. Baumeister
  15. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
  16. The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson

So, for 2012 I am committing to reading 1.5 books each month, which will make for a total of 18 over the course of the year.  I’ve gone back and forth on finalizing this goal.  I want to push myself to read more, but not to the point of being unrealistic. And I do have some big plans for 2012 that could make setting aside time for reading a bit of a challenge.  But nonetheless, 18 it is!  I’ll keep you updated as I make progress toward that goal.  Do you set a yearly or monthly reading goal or does that take the fun out of it?  If so, what’s doable for you?

10 thoughts on “A Book a Month…

  1. Lou Lou

    I’m glad you made your target – good luck for this year!

    I set a target for myself of 100 books in a year, but it takes quite a lot of reading – one book every 3 and a half days. I think I should have set myself a more realistic target!

    Reply
    1. Katelyn Post author

      Wow!!! That is an impressive goal. I hope to be able to read that much one day. What are you currently reading?

      Reply
      1. Lou Lou

        Right now I’m reading a book called Out of My League by a baseball player called Dirk Hayhurst – almost finished it and it’s really good! I’m trying to post reviews of all the books I read on my blog, it’s keeping me focused!

      2. Katelyn Post author

        I will check that out. Hopefully your reviews will provide some inspiration for my reading list this year. Thanks!

  2. laura

    What did you think of Spark? I just picked it up on the recommendation from a fellow music and movement teacher. Looks intriguing…

    Reply
    1. Katelyn Post author

      I loved Spark – One of my favorites from last year. I personally have always thought that exercise was a great remedy for the blues, so it was nice to see that proven with some interesting research. It was also a great motivator to get to the gym because I realized that it’s about so much more than just trying to change your appearance. It is proven to improve your cognitive abilities. Anyway, ENJOY! Let me know what you think when you’re finished.

      Reply
  3. Nanci Osborne

    Katelyn- Have you read Half Broke Horses by Jeannette Walls? I think you’d really like it- Nonfiction- REALLY interesting- with a delightful sense of humor!
    Nanci

    Reply
    1. Katelyn Post author

      This looks great. I have not read it, but I’ve already added it to my Goodreads “To-Read” list. It wouldn’t happen to be on the Kindle would it? 🙂
      Thanks for the recommendation!!

      Reply
  4. Pingback: In the wee hours… « a little old fashioned

Leave a Reply

